Miserere Paraphrase

The Cook, the Thief, His Wife & Her Lover was a truly bizarre and disturbing film. I saw it in the cinema when it first came out, in 1989.  I’d hazard a guess that this film has left a lasting impression on most people who have seen it, and I’m no exception. I’m grateful for one thing: it introduced me to the music of Michael Nyman. (EDITED: Two days after writing this post, I spotted that Film4 will screen this film on Tuesday 5th of March. If you haven’t seen it and live in the UK, here’s your chance).

2 thoughts on “Miserere Paraphrase

  1. Yes, “interesting”… 😀 (I did like it but it did also creep me out. It shares some aesthetic elements and mood with the Gormenghast TV adaptation and some of Guillermo del Toro’s films).

Leave a Reply

